top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarcia Farias

Who are the BIG TEN?

Updated: May 29, 2021

In a previous post, I talked about the Ivy League. The Big Ten is another important sports league in the US world of universities - one of the oldest, having been established in 1895.

Today this collegiate conference has in reality 14 members and 2 affiliate institutions. The conference includes the flagship public university in 11 states, from New Jersey to Nebraska, two public land-grant schools and one private university. Associate members are Johns Hopkins University and the University of Notre Dame. Established in 1895, the Big Ten is one of the oldest collegiate conferences in the US.

One of the most prominent characteristics of Big Ten universities is a large student body - 12 of the 14 members have 30,000 or more students. Together, the Big Ten universities educate more than 520,000 students! Other important characteristics of the Big Ten schools are generous endowments and strong research outcomes.

Northwestern is the one private university among Big Ten membership.

Members of the Big Ten are:

39 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page